True Grit

True Grit

"They tell me you are a man of true grit."

Saw True Grit last weekend. As Coen Brothers movies go, it was excellent, and Jeff Bridges didn’t have to best or belittle John Wayne’s original performance as the crusty Rooster Cogburn; he invented a new one, a parallel Rooster, one appropriate for his time and place.

Of course, the title infers more than just an eye-patch, some dusty, rolling tumbleweed, cheap whiskey, and a loaded gun. It refers, of course, to the innate nature of someone. “They tell me you are a man of true grit,” little Maddie Ross told him, “is it true?” Of course we know it will be, despite all immediate evidence to the opposite.

During my time in the ACC, I’ve encountered a few characters I suspect have true grit. I’ve certainly heard stories of true grit revolving around cribbage culture–possibly the best is reserved for the legendary Dick O’Kane cribbage board, how it came to be, and where it’s going. But more on that later–I haven’t made it to Norfolk yet. Mike Haeg and the World’s Largest Cribbage Board folk drilled holes through the crusty Minnesota ice of Medicine Lake and conducted their first 3+ hour game during a day recorded with 17 degrees below zero as the high. Damn. The last time I was on the ice for an extended period of time I ordered pizza and had a beer.

Well, this is just a short post, but if anyone has any tales or references of true grit in the cribbage world, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

